DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Mentor
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All. I am a newbie to the website and this is one of the best fourms I have ever been to. I was just curious if someone (Earl) could explian the technical differences between the OTA tuner the HR-20's use vs ones in TV's. It seems that the TV Tuners perform better. Is it just quality or is it a technical aspect?

The reason I ask is 2 of my locals are being discovered and have signal strength, but I get the OTA searching 771 error. just curious is someone could explain if there were any MAJOR technical differences.

Thanks in advance!

·
Lifetime Achiever
30,092 Posts
Not knowing the specifics of which tuner is in your TV... or the exact model that is in the HR20, it is hard to say what the technical difficulties.

Right now, there is no idications that it is or isn't a "technical" hardware level issue with the HR20.

The 771 error, could be as simple as the guide data says... chanle X-i maps to frequency Q... when in turn it should be frequency Z

Other's can be that the HR20s tuners are probably a lot more sensitive, and have a lower threshold for signal integrity... since with the DVR aspect of it, it want's a more stable signal.

Right now, just not known yet.

·
Mentor
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Earl Bonovich said:
Not knowing the specifics of which tuner is in your TV... or the exact model that is in the HR20, it is hard to say what the technical difficulties.

Right now, there is no idications that it is or isn't a "technical" hardware level issue with the HR20.

The 771 error, could be as simple as the guide data says... chanle X-i maps to frequency Q... when in turn it should be frequency Z

Other's can be that the HR20s tuners are probably a lot more sensitive, and have a lower threshold for signal integrity... since with the DVR aspect of it, it want's a more stable signal.

Right now, just not known yet.