DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Godfather
Joined
·
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a owned HR21-PRO that the HDMI output has stopped working on. I also have a problem with my SWM-16 multiswitch, so the Protection Plan is sending a tech out tomorrow to fix the issues. What I need to know is how to handle the replacment that they bring for the HR21-PRO. Since it is owned, I want the replacement to show up as owned as well. I read that the Access Card team needs to be called to activate the replacement in order to make it show up as owned. Do I need to tell the technician when he brings in the replacement, that I will call to do the activation, and then ask to be transferred to the access card dept, or do they have a seperate number where they can be contacted directly? I will appreciate any help that you all can give me. Thanks
 

·
Genius.
Joined
·
20,073 Posts
DirecTV does NOT stock HR21-PRO units. most likely the OP will get an HR24 but this one will be leased. you get to keep your HR21-PRO. no way to make a replacement unit "owned"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,652 Posts
peds48 said:
DirecTV does NOT stock HR21-PRO units. most likely the OP will get an HR24 but this one will be leased. you get to keep your HR21-PRO. no way to make a replacement unit "owned"
yes there is. If you get a replacement unit, it will probably show up in the system as "leased" but a call to the access card group can change that. I've had to do that a couple of times.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32,456 Posts
peds48 said:
DirecTV does NOT stock HR21-PRO units. most likely the OP will get an HR24 but this one will be leased. you get to keep your HR21-PRO. no way to make a replacement unit "owned"
I have verified (in writing via e-mail) on more than one occasion (including in 2012) that if you have the protection plan, owned units are replaced (no guarantees on the model) and also flagged as owned.
 

·
DINFOS Trained Killer
Joined
·
1,217 Posts
bobvick1983 said:
I have a owned HR21-PRO that the HDMI output has stopped working on. I also have a problem with my SWM-16 multiswitch, so the Protection Plan is sending a tech out tomorrow to fix the issues. What I need to know is how to handle the replacment that they bring for the HR21-PRO. Since it is owned, I want the replacement to show up as owned as well. I read that the Access Card team needs to be called to activate the replacement in order to make it show up as owned. Do I need to tell the technician when he brings in the replacement, that I will call to do the activation, and then ask to be transferred to the access card dept, or do they have a seperate number where they can be contacted directly? I will appreciate any help that you all can give me. Thanks
check your pm :)
 

·
Godfather
Joined
·
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I think that I will tell the installer when he comes, what ever it is that he has that the PRO is owned, and when we call to activate the replacement I want to speak with them on the telephone, and get sent to the access card dept. That way, maybe (if I am lucky) I can get it set correctly from the start. I had a hell of a time getting them to make the HR21-PRO show up as owned when I bought it. They kept telling me it could not be owned, that it was a HR21-200. FINALLY after many e-mails and calls, and pictures that I faxed and e-mailed, they agreed it was a HR21-200P and not just a HR21-200.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
4,974 Posts
bobvick1983 said:
I think that I will tell the installer when he comes, what ever it is that he has that the PRO is owned, and when we call to activate the replacement I want to speak with them on the telephone, and get sent to the access card dept. That way, maybe (if I am lucky) I can get it set correctly from the start. I had a hell of a time getting them to make the HR21-PRO show up as owned when I bought it. They kept telling me it could not be owned, that it was a HR21-200. FINALLY after many e-mails and calls, and pictures that I faxed and e-mailed, they agreed it was a HR21-200P and not just a HR21-200.
I went through this recently, I had a Case management involved and the guy came out, knew I had owned equipment and still just activated the receiver from his hand held device. He knew I was going to have an issue with it but could not be bothered to call and have it activated the right way. I hope the guy is willing to do it right the first time. If not, call the Access Card Department directly at 877-887-7994 and get it straightened out as soon as possible. Sometimes they are so good and get it changed so fast that it never hits your account as leased even when they activate it wrong. Be prepared with the old units receiver ID that was swapped and the new so they can clearly see what occurred on your account. Let us know how it goes. I highly doubt you will get a HR21 PRO but hope that it is something better. One thing I will say is that they usually dont like to swap receivers over the phone at the protection plan if its just the HDMI port. That being said when a tech rolls out they dont want to be called back out for the same box in the near future so they are very willing to swap the receiver for you. There are advantages to having someone come out. The odds of getting a replacement HR24 are better from a tech visit then what ever they ship you as well at least in my opinion. Im hoping for the best for you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,050 Posts
hdtvfan0001 said:
I have verified (in writing via e-mail) on more than one occasion (including in 2012) that if you have the protection plan, owned units are replaced (no guarantees on the model) and also flagged as owned.
And I can confirm this because I've had 2 owned units replaced as owned and I have the PP.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
4,974 Posts
RunnerFL said:
And I can confirm this because I've had 2 owned units replaced as owned and I have the PP.
I have replaced probably at least 5 owned units under the PP. I have had some issues along the way but in the end all of them were corrected to show as owned for owned swap.
 

·
Godfather
Joined
·
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
They came yesterday and fixed my setup. The technician, naturally did not have any more HR21-PRO receivers to replace mine with, but he did have a brand new HR24 to replace it with, so I decided to go with that. The main reason I had the HR21-PRO anyway, was to be able to install a 2TB drive inside rather than using a external HDD. I liked that aspect of the HR21, but it was much slower than the HR24's and HR34 that I have, so for the speed issues I decided to just go with the HR24. I got my 2TB Seagate drive out of the HR21 before the guy came and reinstalled the 500GB drive that came with it. Now all I have to do is find a good enclosure for that drive. I just got off the phone with the access card department. The guy there said that the replacement was listed as leased, when it should have showed up as owned, and he said that he fixed it for me, so that seemed to have went quite smoothly. Thanks for everybody's help here, I appreciate it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
273 Posts
bobvick1983 said:
They came yesterday and fixed my setup. The technician, naturally did not have any more HR21-PRO receivers to replace mine with, but he did have a brand new HR24 to replace it with, so I decided to go with that. The main reason I had the HR21-PRO anyway, was to be able to install a 2TB drive inside rather than using a external HDD. I liked that aspect of the HR21, but it was much slower than the HR24's and HR34 that I have, so for the speed issues I decided to just go with the HR24. I got my 2TB Seagate drive out of the HR21 before the guy came and reinstalled the 500GB drive that came with it. Now all I have to do is find a good enclosure for that drive. I just got off the phone with the access card department. The guy there said that the replacement was listed as leased, when it should have showed up as owned, and he said that he fixed it for me, so that seemed to have went quite smoothly. Thanks for everybody's help here, I appreciate it.
Hello bobvick1983,

Two good enclosures for 2TB and lesser sized SATA hard drives (complete with power and data eSATA cables) are from Antec and Thermaltake.

Antec MX-1

http://store.antec.com/Product/accessory-veris_media/mx-1/0-761345-77150-4.aspx

Thermaltake (BlacX units)

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Products.aspx?S=1268

There are other manufacturers that you could pick from but many prefer the ones from these two manufacturers. Good luck with whatever you choose.
 

·
Hall Of Fame
Joined
·
4,974 Posts
bobvick1983 said:
They came yesterday and fixed my setup. The technician, naturally did not have any more HR21-PRO receivers to replace mine with, but he did have a brand new HR24 to replace it with, so I decided to go with that. The main reason I had the HR21-PRO anyway, was to be able to install a 2TB drive inside rather than using a external HDD. I liked that aspect of the HR21, but it was much slower than the HR24's and HR34 that I have, so for the speed issues I decided to just go with the HR24. I got my 2TB Seagate drive out of the HR21 before the guy came and reinstalled the 500GB drive that came with it. Now all I have to do is find a good enclosure for that drive. I just got off the phone with the access card department. The guy there said that the replacement was listed as leased, when it should have showed up as owned, and he said that he fixed it for me, so that seemed to have went quite smoothly. Thanks for everybody's help here, I appreciate it.
I recommend you calling back next week and asking what your commitment end date is to see if one started by accident. It is much easier to resolve now then it is down the line.
 

·
Godfather
Joined
·
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
joshjr said:
I recommend you calling back next week and asking what your commitment end date is to see if one started by accident. It is much easier to resolve now then it is down the line.
Thanks for the suggestion, I did not think about that. I will indeed call in a day or two and check.
 

·
Godfather
Joined
·
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
caseyf5 said:
Hello bobvick1983,

Two good enclosures for 2TB and lesser sized SATA hard drives (complete with power and data eSATA cables) are from Antec and Thermaltake.

Antec MX-1

http://store.antec.com/Product/accessory-veris_media/mx-1/0-761345-77150-4.aspx

Thermaltake (BlacX units)

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Products.aspx?S=1268

There are other manufacturers that you could pick from but many prefer the ones from these two manufacturers. Good luck with whatever you choose.
Appreciate the input. I have a Black X that I used with Dish Network on a 1TB drive, and liked it real well. It is USB only, so I will have to get eSATA/USB one for DirecTV. I will take a look at the Antec too.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
14,044 Posts
hdtvfan0001 said:
I have verified (in writing via e-mail) on more than one occasion (including in 2012) that if you have the protection plan, owned units are replaced (no guarantees on the model) and also flagged as owned.
That is true. I have actually done this twice in the past year. Last summer I had my HR23-700 die on me (there were actually flames involved :)). The replacement under the Protection Plan was owned.

The replacement died a couple of months ago and was once again replaced as an owned receiver.

The Protection Plan will replace an owned receiver as an owned receiver.

Mike
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top