DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I asked this in the 0x104 thread but either no one knows or else they're all so enraptured about their OTA joy that they don't care. Has anyone figured out if program padding is fixed yet, or are we still going to have to just record the next program out of the Guide to make sure we don't miss things that run long?

Second, a padding issue: we like to watch CSI: syndicated on Spike. That channel has an annoying habit of starting their shows about 30 seconds late and running about 30 seconds long. They also run several episodes back to back on some nights. What I would LIKE to do is change recording options to start 30 seconds late and end 30 seconds late so that I get the entire episode. Unfortunately, it looks like the only options are in 1 minute increments and that you can't start late or end early at all. So if I tell the HR20 to end my recordings of CSI: on Spike 1 minute late, it's more extra than I need, and will also cancel every other recording during their back-to-back marathons because running long interferes with the subsequent recording (which I cannot tell to start late). Argh.

Given how many networks (*cough* NBC! *cough*) seem to enjoy screwing with people by starting shows at odd times and running a minute or two long on purpose), it seems to me that tweaking show times early OR LATE would be an increasingly-important feature.

·
Lifetime Achiever
21,331 Posts
LameLefty said:
First off, I asked this in the 0x104 thread but either no one knows or else they're all so enraptured about their OTA joy that they don't care. Has anyone figured out if program padding is fixed yet, or are we still going to have to just record the next program out of the Guide to make sure we don't miss things that run long?