DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Mentor
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 4:3 TV hooked up through component, and I have noticed that both my regular shows and my HD shows seems to be a little cut off on the sides. It's not a lot by any means, but still slightly annoying. At first I thought it might be something on my TV settings, but I don't see any settings to adjust the horizontal stretch or anything like that.

But then when I started playing around with things I noticed I could get more picture on the sides. For example when I go to menu or guide mode and it shows the picture in the upper right hand corner, I can see more image on the sides. Also if I go into the menu and change the TV setting to 16:9 (even though I have a 4:3 tv) it will pillar box my image and then I see the whole image to the left and right sides before the black bars start. Any ideas?

Thanks.

· Registered
14,539 Posts
It's your tv, sadly. I just went from a 4:3 Sony HDTV to a new Samsung 16:9 lcd, and I see A LOT more picture. On ABC HD broadcasts, the HD symbol in the bottom right was about 2/3 visible on my Sony. Now, I see the symbol plus some area. I think 4:3 sets were a good idea gone bad. I'd bought mine last year this same time figuring I watch more SD 4:3 content...WRONG! So I ponied up the big bucks for a nice 16:9 model and love it.

· Mentor
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your reply, it does seem sad indeed. Weird thing is I didn't seem to notice any missing picture when I was just on the standard DirecTV and standard Tivo back in the day. Maybe I will have to compare.

· AllStar
74 Posts