DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I understand a change is coming so that you can't watch purchased PPVs through the component output. Does this mean you can't watch them in HD resolution over the component cables, or just a blanket "No PPVs over component"? Wondering because I have my HR20 connected to my tv via component, but my tv can only handle 480i (It's an SDTV). Will I still be able to watch PPVs? What about HD PPVs? Those are what I usually purchase.

·
Mentor
49 Posts
Well, that nice but my Mitsubishi 65" HD TV does not have an HDMI.

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
More B.S. from the content police, who keep finding ways to cripple our hardware so that Hollyweird stays happy. Geez, how many REAL consumers use component cables to make HD quality copies to pirate? A tiny fraction of a percent or less, yet EVERYONE has to put up with crap like this because of the completely disproportionate lobbying power the entertainment industry wields in D.C. :(

·
Registered
4,290 Posts
LameLefty said:
More B.S. from the content police, who keep finding ways to cripple our hardware so that Hollyweird stays happy. Geez, how many REAL consumers use component cables to make HD quality copies to pirate? A tiny fraction of a percent or less, yet EVERYONE has to put up with crap like this because of the completely disproportionate lobbying power the entertainment industry wields in D.C. :(
I hate this crap too... but unfortunately, one high quality HD copy made here and sent overseas to somewhere like China will result in literally millions of bootleg, non revenue producing copies of the film all over the world. Face it, much as we all hate this stuff someone needs to find a way to balance the needs of the content producers against the legitimate desires of consumers. I don't have a clue what that answer will be and it will probably be a solution that won't make anybody happy.

·
Legend
110 Posts