DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased an R15 receiver from Ebay. I have been using a Sony Ultimate tv Directv receiver for 4 years now with no problems. I was attracted to the 100 hours of recording space of the R15.
The problem I'm having is that when its acquiring info from satellite during initial setup, it hangs at 0%. After an hour on the phone with Directv, they can only offer a $70 service call. They claim theres no signal coming from the dish and there must be a problem with the lnb or wiring. But when i put the sony back in, it picks everything up fine. The R15 came with an access card, but since it was already tied to the previous owners account, i wasn't able to use it. I used the card from my sony to try to activate with directv, but that card is 4 years old. Could that be the source of my problem? Could a new access card help me?

thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

·
Cool Member
29 Posts
Why did you buy R15 from ebay. DTV will give them to you free.

I am a long time UTV owner with four of them. I decided to replace them with R15s since my main UTV Tuner 2 died. I called DTV and got one free one installed last week. My second UTV had Tuner 1 problems several months ago and finally gave up the ghost, permanently dead Tuner 1 recently. Got online and used dvr4u2 code and got another free R15 installed today. No $20 for cards either since all R15s come with new cards. New ones are only $99 at BestBuy and CC. I plan on buying two from BB and replacing all my UTVs. The R15s work fine just not as user friendly as UTV. But we are getting used to interface and can deal with R15 quirks. Hopefully, new software will continually improve the R15. UTV wasn't updated in several years from microsoft. And I can give up my $10 UTV fee now.

·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·