DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How great would it be for Tivo to step up to the plate and offer their software for the HR20-700?

Imagine an eSATA external drive pre-configured for say $100-200 + HD size options for a DVR that would actually work problem free.

Tivo would make the $100-200 for their software, and the rest of us would have a DVR that was problem free with all of the features that DTV can't figure out how to make work, such as OTA. All Tivo would have to do is port their code to talk to the new hardware. Seems like it shouldn't be that hard to me, but then again, I'm not a programmer.

This would allow DTV to save face, and make their users happy. Pay $300 for a dtvplus+ box, or upgrade to a fully functional dvr for an extra $500.

Who wouldn't jump on this in a heartbeat? I know I would, no matter what the cost.

How long until some smart hacker does this for us?

·
Lifetime Achiever
30,092 Posts
How long until some smart hacker does that for you? Years, if ever...

For an example on how hard it must be to get the TiVo software running on a non-tivo designed peice of hardware.

Take a look at the Comcast & TiVo solution, where they are trying to get it to run on the existing Motorola box. 2.5+ years since they announced the "partnership", with current details pointing at not till at least April 2007 till it will be released.

So yah... count me in the group, as one of those that "wouldn't" jump at that in a heartbeat.

BTW: :welcome_s to DBSTalk

·
AllStar
59 Posts
I'm willing to bet that there is a liscence agreement for the HR20 that would prevent you from doing this.

Even if there wasn't, it would require Tivo to have some initative and do something bold. They haven't done that since the launch of the Tivo series 1. Everything released since has been mostly incremental upgrades.

Earl raises some good points too.

·
AllStar
90 Posts