DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've read a lot of posts and don't see anything that replaces my slingbox. I am a retired international airline pilot and have used my slingbox from all over the planet for many years. I just want to access my direct TV dvr remotely. I don't care about streaming (although i do it). I want to be able to watch my shows and skip the commercials. I watch 99% of TV without them. Yes....it's wonky using the remote but I live with it. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,534 Posts
I believe the slingbox is dead or close to not being supported anymore.

Probably DirecTV Stream would be your best bet, but if I remember right It will only do locals in the area you are in.

I have used Tivo's with cable and now OTA but not sure I would invest in Tivo equipment any more. They seem to be dying a slow death also.

Tablo looks interesting but I really don't know of a product that does what slingbox did or as well as it did it.

I currently use a OTA Tivo Bolt, Evoca TV (only in limited areas), a Roku and streaming services, Netflix, Amazon, Apple TV and Paramount + to get what I used to be able to get with one service.

DirecTV and Comcast have gotten so expensive it was not worth it anymore to me. The best content now seems to be on multiple streaming services.

I guess we are dinosaurs. The younger generations want nothing to do with DVR's or OTA TV. They want everything on their phones and streaming.

·
Beware the Attack Basset
24,987 Posts
TiVos and Tablos aren't really a solution to the problem as they can only record content from their tuners (none of which support satellite).

What Slingbox is shutting down is their locating service but I think there may be a way to use a Slingbox without the service.

Before Sling had the locating service, we could access the box with an IP address which could be handled with a dynamic DNS service.

·
Registered
36,654 Posts