DBSTalk Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
5,915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I have been trying to figure out for awhile how to do this or if there is a affordable product that would help me.

I currently have an HR21 upstairs with an LCD TV (via HDMI). Right below in the basement is our movie room that has a project with component inputs for HD. I would like to somehow get a signal down to it and would prefer to do HD if possible.

It is not used a ton which is why it has not been top priority. Remote is also not an issue as the RF remote easily gets down there.

Solutions I have looked at:

-Wiring - Not easily done and I am a network installer so I know how to run wire. Problem is a lot of brick and a custom wood ceiling in the way that cannot be touched.

-Wireless - Have not found a solution that can do HD, and one that does not get horrendus static from my wireless router

Now between the two locations I do have a gigabit network connection, I also have coax I could run something over (although I have not seen any good solutions for HD over single coax).

The next solution would be a SWM and second receiver, but like I said it is not used much so I dont really want to spend ~$300 plus a monthly fee. Any ideas?

· Almost a new member
427 Posts
There are a few solutions for wireless HD/wireless HDMI that are coming out over the next year. I think Gefen has one now, Belkin is shipping product to do it in October. I think it's at least $800. Not sure what the other stuff costs. Clearly those are insane prices.

As far as "affordable", I assume you're looking for something that's sub $300.

http://www.copperbox.com/Intelix-DIGI-HDMI-F-HDMI-over-CAT5-balun-set-p/digi-hdmi-f.htm

I don't know if it's the best price for this set, or what the quality of this is. But it's about half the price of the other solutions I saw :)

· Registered
5,915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thx for the info,