DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm currently a Dish Network customer, but I'm thinking about switching to Time Warner digital cable. I wanted to see what you guys thought. I am new to DBSTalk, so if I'm repeating something that's been hashed out before, I apologize.

I currently have one HDTV ready TV (a Philips 34" 16:9 TV) and one regular 27" TV. I have one Open TV receiver (can't remember which one, but I've had it for about two years) and one more basic receiver. I've thought about upgrading to a PVR model such as the 501, or the 721 once it comes out. I've also thought about getting a 6000, but I don't want to spend the money and more importantly, I (or more particularly, my wife) doesn't want to have a 2nd dish mounted on our house in suburbia. I have also thought about switching to Direct TV to get TIVO or Ultimate TV at the new subscriber specials. As far as I know, no one sells a HD/PVR product, but at least with Direct TV, I wouldn't have to have a 2nd dish mounted and I could maybe get one HD box and PVR box.

I've got Time Warner digital cable in my area, and they have offered me the following:
1) current availability of an HD box (rather than being put on a waiting list), with six currently available HD channels, including PBS, CBS, NBC, HBO and Showtime
2) their Digital Variety package (which has more TV and music channels I believe than the Top 100) including HBO and Showtime for 12 mos. for $42, as well as free installation for 3 outlets. I would pay an extra $8 for a second box, so a total of $50 + taxes for the two premiums plus a lot of channels for 12 mos. Regular pricing is $73 + tax.
3) I have the option of selling my dish and a receiver to them for $100.