Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Cool Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I can't wait till Thursday! I signed up as a new subscriber to Dish Network and I'm getting the VIP-622. So long D*, after 10 years.

I was reading the Dish 1000 installation manual, and it looks like I need to aim about 10 degrees more to the right than the D* Phase III.

I'd like the installer to use the existing location, mast, and wiring if possible, since it was part of the construction. But, I have a feeling moving 10 degrees will smack me in to the house. :)

I scanned a drawing of my floor plan, and inserted the existing and new aiming directions. There are also a couple pictures of the scene. (see attachments)

One Question... In the Dish 1000 manual, it gives an azimuth of 219 based on zip 535XX. Is that a compass heading which would include the +4 magnetic variance from true for the area? Or is that 219 true, 223 magnetic?

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Legend
163 Posts
Well the wiring wont be a problem. (as long as there are 4 (for the 1000+, 3 for the 1000).
I had the origional 1 sat dish, for D* and then moved to a 3 sat dish for D* and I was able to use the same pole, but when I moved to the 1000+ I needed a new pole witch was longer, but fit in the same bracket.
as far as being a little off, I think you should be ok.. good news is there is less wiring to if it doesnt you dont waste all that much time.

is an installer comming out? he should have a birddog or something to test the signal of each before he finishes.

good luck.

e..b

p.s.. I like the view of the LNB's .. thats kinda cool!

·
Cool Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
eatonjb said:
is an installer comming out? he should have a birddog or something to test the signal of each before he finishes.
Yes, it's the "professional" installation they require. :)

I have 4 RG6 going to the dish now, so yeah wiring will be OK.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,086 Posts