DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· AllStar
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So was I, and as a geek by trade, I decided to go for it, even though a friend said it was a disaster and I has read this forum and all the problems listed.
Actually, D* said they didn't have any units, and I had resolved to just get a regular receiver. After a long scheduling fiasco, a truck finally arrived and lo and behold the guy in the truck offered to sell me the H20 DVR. I took it.
The short summary: this DVR sucks.
The supposed features are really great, but the thing just doesn't work consistantly. And mine is a brand new unit with the latest EF software.
The good news is I expect it works fine as a regular receiver, if you reset it once and a while. So I'm not any worse off than than I would be with one of those, except for the $200. My hope is that they get all the bugs fixed with just a software update and that within 6 months I have a good dvr.
But if you are looking for a functioning dvr, don't get this unit. WAIT till the forum concensus is that it is fixed.
If you are a geek and want to play with the unit, and don't mind waiting for 6 months till they get it to work like it should, than go for it. You probably won't be worse off than if you just got the receiver... as I said, except for the 200 bucks.
Just my commentary for anyone in the position of ordering like I was 2 weeks ago!
C

· Icon
731 Posts
Sorry to hear you are unhappy.. I, coming from DISH 3 months ago, am very happy! I feel this is an amazing unit (besides the current issues- none more severe than annoyances for me) and overall it's better than anything DISH has to offer. I have never seen a TiVo so i can't comment on that. I have never had only a couple missed recordings in 3 months.. but have had to red button reset a few times... never a total reset.

· I used to be a rocket scientist
11,448 Posts