DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Hall Of Fame
1,765 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have gotten so much great information from a lot of people here at dbstalk that I figured I would also try to get some info on my latest toy, the Harmony 880.

Just got my 880 for my birthday yesterday. Loving it so far.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to these types of remotes but consider myself to be advanced when it comes to PC knowledge.

I was unable to get the desktop software loaded on my XP desktop. Everytime I install it at the very end when it tries to launch it gives off a Java error. Fatal Exception Executing JVM Runtime: Exception or Error thrown from Java

I then installed it on my W2K laptop and it installed but when I try to use the Web interface to make changes, add devices, and activities it is defaulting back to using the desktop software for updating the remote. I want to be able to use the web interface for everything.

Also I wanted to add a custom logo that I found online, just to try it out, and it went through the entire process of adding everything again where I was expecting it to just quickly add the logo. Is that correct.

Is the desktop software needed at all? Because it seems to be interfering with the operations of transfering data to the remote.

Hope my explaination here is correct. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

·
DBSTalk Club Member
561 Posts
Yes, the web interface will always launch the desktop application. I think the software program is a bit clunky. Check the logitech site to make sure you have the latest version of the desktop app. I was having all kinds of problems with my desktop app but then realized I had an older version of the software.

·
Hall Of Fame
1,765 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·