DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Icon
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I notice that everyone on this forum asks questions about DirecTV equipment to Earl Bonovich. My question is why? What information does he have that people know to ask him?

I checked is public profile to see what he does, but I didn't see anything on there. I also tried a search, but searching "Earl" and "job" gives back too many hits.

So what is his source? Not that I'm skeptical of Earl's expertise... I just would like to know what that expertise is, exactly.

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,880 Posts
Earl has some contacts at D*. He doesn't work for them or anything like that. He's one of this forums moderators, and people usually ask him because he is one of the more knowledgeable ones here in terms of D* related stuff.

·
Lifetime Achiever
30,092 Posts
What do I do..... I ask myself that about a dozen times a day... if not more.

I am a software developer.
I spent the first 10 years of my career for a consulting firm, mostly dealing with the database tier, but ultimately had to do GUI and business analysis, project management, ect.... same company, 4 different clients in the 10 years.

I recently changed jobs (Back in April), to a company that is near my home (7 miles... vs my old 1 1/2 hour commute (one way)).... for a family owned jewelery company.

I am part of a 6 person IT depertment, and I am the only non-AS400 developer....

---------------------------
As for what I do here?

I got lucky as dirty to be at the right place at the right time, and was able to build some amazing relationships with people at DirecTV and other companies. I spent the first 5ish years of my "forum" life on the www.tivocommunity.com site.... after I did the R15 review a year ago, I came here to www.dbstalk.com and was eventually asked to be a moderator.

And since then...it has just been gang busters since.