DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· I used to be a rocket scientist
11,448 Posts
No, those are still MPEG2 except for local HD, which is MPEG4 for most people, except those on the east and west coasts and those eligible to receive those channels as Distant Network feeds.

· Lifetime Achiever
30,090 Posts
Well... "Local-HD"...

If you are tuned to the MPEG-4 ones, they will be.
If you are tuned to the "80s", those are MPEG-2
And OTA is MPEG-2

· Registered
2,913 Posts
kathymoore said:
When using HR20, are all HD channels received in MPEG4?
(Discovery, HDnet, local HD, PPV, etc....)

Thanks! :)
Depending on where you are in the country, HD locals are MPEG-4.

If you're getting east coast national network feeds (ABC, CBS, NBC, etc) then they're currently MPEG-2.

Discovery, HDnet, HDnet Movies, UHD, TNT-HD are currently MPEG-2.

All new HD content coming in summer of 2007 will be MPEG-4.

I've also heard rumors that east coast (and west coast) national network feeds will be transitioned to MPEG-4 in the future.

· Registered
2,913 Posts
Earl Bonovich said:
Well... "Local-HD"...

If you are tuned to the MPEG-4 ones, they will be.
If you are tuned to the "80s", those are MPEG-2
And OTA is MPEG-2
Wow, tough to be the first to reply with you guys monitoring the boards. :)

· Icon
765 Posts
So I am curious, what is the difference, practically speaking, twixt these two formats? Is one a better quality, or perhaps take up less hard drive space when recording?
Thanks.

· Hall Of Fame
1,743 Posts
HolmesCo said:
So I am curious, what is the difference, practically speaking, twixt these two formats? Is one a better quality, or perhaps take up less hard drive space when recording?
Thanks.
Quality varies by Local Markets but MPEG-4 does use less space.
From the user manual.
MPEG-2 HD 30 Hours capacity
MPEG-4 HD 50 Hours capacity

· Icon
765 Posts
Radio Enginerd said:
Depending on where you are in the country, HD locals are MPEG-4.