DBSTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Hall Of Fame
1,120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a software engineer, and I just don't get it. It's not like they are installing software on machines with potentially different hardware/configs or anything else. It's all the same hardware, and it's the same code, and it's (likely) too early to be hacked, so what gives?

I understand the occasional dead box. A cord tears, a solder comes loose, etc. But, if you experience a problem, why don't I? And, vice versa?

·
Registered
4,880 Posts
It's just the sheer amount of different data sources. MPEG4, MPEG2, HD, SD. Things in one market may be encoded slightly differently than other places, although D* is in the process of updating encoding equipment. On top of all that, you have many different ways the HR20 can be used, lots of different scheduling scenarios, other hardware that has to interface with the HR20 correctly (HDMI issues). There's just a buttload of variable situations that not everyone may encounter.

·
Hall Of Fame
2,320 Posts
ProfLonghair said:
I'm a software engineer, and I just don't get it. It's not like they are installing software on machines with potentially different hardware/configs or anything else. It's all the same hardware, and it's the same code, and it's (likely) too early to be hacked, so what gives?

I understand the occasional dead box. A cord tears, a solder comes loose, etc. But, if you experience a problem, why don't I? And, vice versa?
your a sw eng and u ask that question? You have never found a problem that only occurs with a unique configuration that the customer has? If not than ya havent been in the industry long enough. One time a sw problem we had only showed up in an environment were a poorly shielded connector was being used, seemed to cause an interrupt that had never been encountered by the device driver.

·
AllStar
51 Posts
spidey said: