Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
AllStar
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The AT9 of course -- the HR20 will go indoors =]

I have an install scheduled for today and its basically the only day I can get off for about the next 12 weeks. I need the AT9, I've already set up the HR20.

The rain might be helping out my Cardinals, but how will it impact an installer and the AT9? He basically needs to swap out the 3-LNB dish for the AT9.

·
Godfather
420 Posts
Well, It's not just a simple swap out as the mast diameter is bigger for the AT-9, so it's bascially a whole new install. I suppose it's up to the installer, with safety being the major concern. (lightning, slippery roof etc.)

·
I used to be a rocket scientist
12,182 Posts
I think wakajawaka's right - if the install is onto a wall, for instance, it should be pretty straightforward. You do have to be concerned about water getting into the coax connections but as long as it's not a torrential downpour when he's making connections it can probably be done. That said, if the guy shows and does it, he's earned a good tip.

·
Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07
9,809 Posts
WinstonSmith said:
Also, what are the odds that if he won't install, he would leave the AT9 with me and I can install it myself?
You can always ask.

If it's a pole mount, and your pole is already there and is 2" diameter it should be pretty straight forward. He can put it all together inside your house and you can hold an umbrella for him as he hooks up the cables to keep them (and him) dry. And definately a tip if he is willing to do it in the rain.

·
DBSTalk Club Member
721 Posts
WinstonSmith said:

I have an install scheduled for today and its basically the only day I can get off for about the next 12 weeks. I need the AT9, I've already set up the HR20.

The rain might be helping out my Cardinals, but how will it impact an installer and the AT9? He basically needs to swap out the 3-LNB dish for the AT9.