Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Hall Of Fame
2,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Albeit a little off topic, but:

Who is the real Earl Bonovich.

You seem to know a lot Earl, and this website has been instrumental as far as informing me about DTV hardware.

I guess this thread is looking for an "E! True Hollywood Story" on Earl Bonovich and your relationship with DirecTV. Do you work for DTV Earl? Are you friends with one or more people in DTV? Are you the reason that DTV actually reads this site, etc., etc.

Thanks again for the work, and looking forward to reading the responses.

· Lifetime Achiever
30,090 Posts
I guess it has been a while since I answerd the question...

So here it goes.

- I do not work for DirecTV... Never have, and probably never will.
- I do live in a suburb of Chicago... I am a software developer. For the last year, with a family owned Jewlery buisness... for the 10 years prior for a consulting firm.

- I started in this "forum" land, about 7 years ago when I got my first SA TiVo at TCF...
- I did my first review of a product, the R10... About 2.5 years ago, at TCF
- Then a year later, my second with the R15..

The R15 discussion was deemed not "correct" for TiVoCommunity, and it was moved here to DBSTalk.
A few months later... the I was asked to be a moderator of the DirecTV forums......

Shortly after doing my R15 review, DirecTV caught notice of "me". From that, a relationship started to build. And it has grown over the last 18ish months or so.
There are a "few" contacts now... not just one, or just one avenue.
There are a few others here on the forum that have legit contacts.

The TechKnow forum at forums.directv.com has grown a bit with some of our users participating over there.

This site was no "secret" to DirecTV... They knew about it before, as well as the other forum boards out there.